4 - 6 April 2019 | BFM Geneva

Ticketing will open 25 february

From 4 to 6 April 2019, the Dance Area Foundation is organizing the second edition of its international festival of junior ballets. An exceptional gathering of young dancers, pedagogues, choreographers and an amateur audience of dance.

The unique feature of this unique festival in Switzerland is to program companies of young dancers at the dawn of their professional career. For the public, this event is an exceptional opportunity to discover very talented junior ballets of international level. </ P>

For young dancers, the festival offers them the opportunity to perform in Geneva, to discover different approaches scenic, technical, educational and cultural, to create links in a place of exchange and develop a network allowing them a better professional integration.

After the success of the 1st edition of the Junior Ballet Festival in 2017, which has counted 1400 spectators over 2 evenings and 140 students who participated in the masterclasses, the foundation wishes to expand this new edition by offering the public and the dancers an additional day of activities.

To this will be added a novelty for this second edition: the organization of a large audition for young dancers, before a jury of professionals!

National Youth Ballet of Germany

National Youth Ballet of Germany, the first young German national ballet, founded by John Neumeier in 2011, consists of eight professional dancers aged 18 to 23 years. With its own repertoire consisting mainly of works by young choreographers, the company dances mainly in new spaces – not theaters, but schools, museums, old people’s homes and even prisons; spaces in which dance does not usually attract much interest. The aim of the Young National Ballet is to demonstrate that dance is socially important, creating a sense of community and a sense of unity, especially for a young audience.

How to better train new generations of dancers than to confront them with pieces of choreographers at the top of their art? This is the track that the Ballet Junior de Genève has followed for 40 years. Several times a season, he invites the big names of the contemporary scene to entrust him with intense dance moments. The company has established itself on the international scene as a young contemporary ballet respectful of the classical heritage but resolutely turned towards the future. In recent years the Geneva Junior Ballet has performed in France, Spain, Germany, Italy and Portugal. Invited to a festival like “Steps” (in 2016) or programmed on a stage such as the Maison de la Danse in Lyon (in 2017), the BJG rub shoulders with the most prestigious companies.

Ballet Junior Genève

Ballet Preljocaj Junior

Based on a reflection conducted with the National Choreographic Centers, the professionalisation unit, renamed Ballet Preljocaj Junior in 2017, is an unprecedented project in the field of dance. This unique device aims to facilitate the integration of young artists into professional life and to offer them a thorough technical mastery. The program is built around a period of professionalization of eleven months as part of an apprenticeship contract. These are the six young dancers-apprentices chosen in the 2018 class who will dance during the festival.

Verve has thirteen outstanding dancers trained in some of the largest conservatories in the world. Each year, the company invites choreographers from around the world to create works that stand out for their physical commitment, singularity and audacity. The company tours extensively at venues and festivals in the UK and abroad, including Austria, Germany, Italy, Malta, Spain and Switzerland. VERVE is the graduate company of the Northern School of Contemporary Dance led by Matthew Robinson.

Verve

Area Jeune Ballet

Area Jeune Ballet is a pre-professional company bringing together students from all walks of life and following the Dance Area Dancer Training Course. Its goal is to enable young dancers to work with influential and / or emerging choreographers and thus address a varied and representative repertoire of the current professional environment. Each year, the AJB performs on regional, national and international stages as part of Festivals, cultural programs or private events. Thanks to these scenic experiences and the acquired network of choreographers, the AJB greatly facilitates professional integration.

4 - 6 avril 2019 | BFM Genève

La billeterie ouvrira le 25 février

Du 4 au 6 avril 2019, la Fondation Dance Area organise la deuxième édition de son festival international de jeunes ballets. Un rassemblement exceptionnel de jeunes danseurs, pédagogues, chorégraphes et d’un public amateur de danse.

La particularité de ce festival unique en Suisse est de programmer des compagnies de jeunes danseurs à l’aube de leur carrière professionnelle. Pour le public, cet événement constitue une occasion exceptionnelle de découvrir de très talentueux ballets juniors de niveau international.

Pour les jeunes danseurs, le festival leur offre l’opportunité de se produire à Genève, de découvrir différentes approches scéniques, techniques, pédagogiques et culturelles, de créer des liens dans un lieu d’échange et de développer un réseau leur permettant une meilleure insertion professionnelle.

Après le succès de la 1ère édition du Festival Jeune Ballet en 2017, qui a comptabilisé 1400 spectateurs sur 2 soirées et 140 élèves qui ont participé aux masterclasses, la fondation souhaite donner à cette nouvelle édition de l’ampleur en offrant au public et aux danseurs une journée supplémentaire d’activités.

À cela s’ajoutera une nouveauté pour cette deuxième édition: l’organisation d’une grande audition pour jeunes danseurs, devant un jury de professionnels!

National Youth Ballet of Germany

National Youth Ballet of Germany, le premier jeune ballet national allemand, fondé par John Neumeier en 2011, se compose de huit danseurs professionnels âgés de 18 à 23 ans. Avec son propre répertoire comprenant principalement des œuvres de jeunes chorégraphes, la compagnie danse principalement dans de nouveaux espaces – pas des théâtres, mais des écoles, des musées, des maisons de retraite et même des prisons; espaces dans lesquels la danse ne suscite généralement pas beaucoup d’intérêt. Le jeune ballet national a pour objectif de démontrer que la danse revêt une importance sociale, créant un esprit de communauté et un sens de l’unité, visant en particulier un public jeune.

Comment mieux former de nouvelles générations de danseurs que de les confronter à des pièces de chorégraphes au sommet de leur art ? C’est la piste que suit depuis 40 ans le Ballet Junior de Genève. Plusieurs fois par saison, il invite des grands noms de la scène contemporaine à lui confier d’intenses moments dansés. La compagnie s’est imposée sur la scène internationale comme un jeune ballet contemporain respectueux de l’héritage classique mais résolument tourné vers l’avenir. Ces dernières années le Ballet Junior de Genève s’est produit en France, en Espagne, en Allemagne, en Italie et au Portugal. Invité à un festival comme «Steps» (en 2016) ou programmé sur une scène telle que la Maison de la Danse à Lyon (en 2017), le BJG côtoie les compagnies les plus prestigieuses.

Ballet Junior Genève

Ballet Preljocaj Junior

Issu d’une réflexion conduite avec les Centres Chorégraphiques Nationaux, la cellule de professionnalisation, rebaptisée Ballet Preljocaj Junior en 2017, est un projet inédit dans le domaine de la danse. Ce dispositif unique vise à faciliter l’intégration des jeunes artistes dans la vie professionnelle et à leur offrir une maîtrise technique approfondie. Le programme est construit autour d’une période de professionnalisation de onze mois dans le cadre d’un contrat d’apprentissage. Ce sont les six jeunes danseurs-apprentis choisis dans la promotion 2018 qui danseront lors du festival.

Verve compte treize danseurs exceptionnels formés dans certains des plus grands conservatoires du monde. Chaque année, la compagnie invite des chorégraphes du monde entier à créer des œuvres qui se distinguent par leur engagement physique, leur singularité et leur audace. La compagnie effectue de nombreuses tournées dans des salles et des festivals au Royaume-Uni et à l’étranger, notamment en Autriche, en Allemagne, en Italie, à Malte, en Espagne et en Suisse. VERVE est la compagnie de dernier cycle de la Northern School of Contemporary Dance dirigée par Matthew Robinson.

Verve

Area Jeune Ballet

L’Area Jeune Ballet est une compagnie pré-professionnelle rassemblant des élèves venus de tous horizons et suivant le cursus de Formation du Danseur-Interprète de Dance Area. Son but est de permettre à de jeunes danseurs de travailler avec des chorégraphes influents et/ou émergents et d’aborder ainsi un répertoire varié et représentatif du milieu professionnel actuel. Chaque année, l’AJB se produit sur des scènes régionales, nationales et internationales dans le cadre de Festivals, de programmes culturels ou d’événements privés. Grâce à ces expériences scéniques et au réseau de chorégraphes acquis, l’AJB facilite grandement l’insertion professionnelle.